Freephone: 0800 1114 805

Freephone: 0800 1114 805

Home Upgrade Grant Phase 2 (HUG2)


The Home Upgrade Grant Phase 2 (HUG2) is a UK Government-funded scheme that provides funding to local authorities to make energy efficiency improvements in people’s homes. It aims to help households manage fuel bills, make homes warmer and more comfortable, lower carbon emissions, and create green jobs.

Our job under HUG2 is to work closely with the Greater South East Net Zero Hub plus individual local authorities to identify households who may qualify for the scheme, then provide a full service from the point of referral through to installation and inspection.

What is available?

Following a full assessment of your home, carried out by us, we will determine a suitable package of energy efficiency improvements for your home.

These energy efficiency improvements can include:

  • wall insulation
  • loft insulation
  • underfloor insulation
  • cavity wall insulation
  • room in the roof insulation


Who qualifies for HUG2?

Owner occupiers and private rented properties are eligible for the scheme. For people who live in a rented property, the landlord will need to give us permission to install energy efficiency improvements.

Householders also need to meet certain eligibility criteria to qualify for funding:

  • Homes not heated by mains gas, which includes oil, coal, LPG or electric heating
  • The home must have a low energy efficiency rating (an EPC rating of D, E, F, or G – this will be assessed by us)
  • The household must meet one of the other qualifying criteria:
    Annual gross household income of less than £31,000 (after tax and deductions, but inclusive of benefits)
    Annual household income of less than £20,000 a year (after housing costs are deducted)
    A member of your household is in receipt of an eligible means tested benefit, such as:
    • Child Tax Credits (CTC)
    • Housing benefit
    • Income based Jobseekers Allowance (JSA)
    • Income related Employment and Support Allowance (ESA)
    • Income Support (IS)
    • Pension Credit Guarantee Credit (PCGC)
    • Pension Credit Savings Credit (PCSC)
    • Universal Credit (UC)
    • Working Tax Credit (WTC)


You live in a postcode approved by your Local Authority

Call Now